Congrats to Winter SSL All Stars!

Students Athletes Acknowledged for their Skills and Leadership


Bill Marquardt, Dylan Magararu Graphics Designer

AHS Wrestling All Star, Mike Broomstein (’19)

Abby Joyce, Staff Writer

As winter sports wound down, many athletes were chosen as South Shore League All Stars for their winter season. These athletes showed exemplary skills in their specific sports.

According to Mr. Peter Serino, the Athletic Director at AHS,  being an All-Star means that “by committing to their sport outside of the season and working hard to improve, they serve as a role model for the younger students.”

When asked about the qualifications for this award, Serino said that, “South Shore League All Stars are voted on by the coaches from the entire league in each sport.” He added that, “To be chosen as an All-Star by the coaches in the league is a remarkable accomplishment and shows that the coaches respect and admire the abilities that the student athlete has specific to their sport.”

A player does not become an all-star by chance, or just during their season.

— AD Peter Sernio

Junior and All Star Wrestler, Mike Broomstein speaks to what he believes it takes to be an All Star Student Athlete. He said, “It’s all about how hard you work and how you support your team.” He adds, “If you don’t work hard you’ll never  get better. If you don’t support your team then you won’t push yourself and your teammates to get better.

Congratulations to all of the SSL All-Stars for their hard work and skills during their winter season! And to any other athlete, continue to play your best and represent your team well, as you could be the next All Star.

The All-Star athletes were as follows:

  • All-Star wrestling:
    • Cam Smith (’18)
    • Mike Broomstein (’19).
  • All Star boys basketball:
    • Bryson Andrews (’19).
  • All-Star girls basketball:
    • Maddie O’Connell (’19)
    • Maureen Stanton (’19)
    • Lauren Keleher (’20)
  • All-Star cheer
    • Carolyn Doherty (’21)
    • Leah Kinniburgh (’21)
    • Haven DiMambro (’20)
    • Maddie Contrino (’19)
  • All-Star Boys hockey
    • Brian Cashman (’18)
    • Jake Hamilton (’18)
    • Billy Ward (’18)